Skip to content

My Little Rescue, Fit for the Runway!

April 10, 2012

As many of you know, I have been working hard to raise money for Fashion for Paws to benefit the Washington Humane Society for the past few months.  As of a few weeks ago, Jakey and I are definitely walking the runway. We had to raise $5,000 by April 6th to secure our spot on the runway. We are still working on our stretch goal of $10,000 by April 13th, but we are still $3,315 away from our goal. We may not make the stretch goal, but we are definitely walking in the show together this coming Saturday, April 14th.

I have been very excited about the event for months now, but now that it is just a few days away…I am have to admit… I am getting a little nervous.  Over 1700 people will be attending…yes…1700! And, Jakey and I will have to strut our stuff in front of a packed house.  Last week Jake had his fitting at Wagtime with owner, Lisa Schreiber.  Wagtime is one of the sponsors of the show and is not only dressing all the dogs in their doggie couture finest, but also is providing the behind the scenes doggie sitting during the show.  Here are a few photos of Jake’s fitting.

{Lisa fitting Jake’s first outfit…a red tux and black bow tie.}

{Jake in his tux.  He is cute, but the red doesn’t really stand out well against his black fur.  You can see little Edward in the background doing what he does best…licking the floor!}

{Jake in his second outfit.  The pink stands out against his fur, but I didn’t love it.  Jake didn’t seem to mind as long as treats were nearby.}

{Here is a better shot of the pink outfit.  Look how cute his tail is all curled up. They are both intently paying attention because one of the Wagtime staff are teasing them with treats. They LOVE their treats!}

{Here’s the third outfit–a gold tux with gold blinged-out collar and top hat. Don’t you just love the hat? Jake is such a good sport. He really didn’t mind the clothes at all!}

{Here’s a closeup of the final outfit.}

{One of the Wagtime staffers took this amazing shot of little Jakey. Can you see why I love this little guy?  His sweet little face is one of the main reasons I am so passionate about animal rescue. Jake and Edward were rescued by Lucky Dog Animal Rescue in South Carolina just days before they were to be euthanized. They love me unconditionally. I cannot imagine life without them!}

{Edward was a good spectator and sport.  I found these super cute shirts in UVA colors so I had to get them for both of them.  Edward’s size was in stock, but I had to order Jakey’s.  Here is Edward modeling his shirt. Isn’t he just simply adorable? I love him to death!!!}

A few days after Jake’s fitting, I had mine at Anne Fontaine in the Galleria Mall at Tysons Corner, VA.  Brazilian-born, Fontaine, is known for creating classic, chic, upscale styles.  I don’t want to give away too much about my outfit, but wanted to share a few photos to give you a glimpse into what inspired my look.

{The designer herself…Anne Fontaine}

{Here is one of Fontaine’s classic looks–black pencil skirt and fitted top with flowy collar.   Don’t you just love it?}

{This top is absolutely fabulous and comes in white.  I LOVE the white flower on the shoulder. Don’t you?}

{When you go into the store at the Galleria in Tysons Corner, they have about 25 of these fantastic collars displayed on the wall. They are exquisite and quite amazing!  They truly are a signature design of Fontaine’s.}

I hope this gives you a glimpse into what Jakey and I will be doing this Saturday night.  The show starts at 9:15pm on Saturday when Jakey and I will strut our stuff for Fashion for Paws to raise money for the Washington Humane Society to help save 30,000 animals this year.

If you want to help our cause, we would greatly appreciate your donation!  All donations are appreciated (no matter how big or small) before April 13th via our webpage.  We are a little over $3K away from our $10K stretch goal that we have to reach by this coming Friday.  Jake and I would greatly appreciate your support!

Love your animals unconditionally as they love you!  Hug ’em, kiss ’em, take ’em on long walks and give them lots of TREATS!!!

If you’d like help creating a beautiful home or office you love, contact me today to learn how easy it is to get started.

Share

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

